13 April 2017 / Club News

Plate Final Squad Announced..... and how the squad compares to previous finals!

Penallta have named their squad for the National Plate final. 

The final kicks off on Sunday 16th April at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff (kick off 3.15pm).

This will be the Pitmen's third Plate final in Cardiff, to go with the Welsh Brewers final, also played at what was then the Millennium Stadium, back in 2001.

So this will be a fourth senior trip to the home of Welsh rugby for a little pit club like ours - what an achievement. And the club has been there six times in total, of course. Penallta Youth played in finals at the stadium in 2014 and 2015, meaning that the club has had the honour of gracing the hallowed turf in each of the last four seasons.

The squad for Sunday is below. Just for kicks, we've listed the previous senior squads privileged enough to be picked to play at the stadium (underneath). Enjoy seeing how they compare, and have a pleasant Pitman ponder over which one you think is best!


National Plate Final 2017

Penallta v Ystalyfera

Penallta Squad

15. Lloyd Rowlands  14. Grant Pearce  13. Andrew Jenkins  12. Jonny Wright  11. Elliott Keep  10. Joseph Scrivens  9. Luke Crane  8. Geraint Capel  7. Ross Morgan ©  6. Rhys Stephens  5. Corey Tucker  4. Lee Rowlands  3. Lloyd Bridges  2. Gregg Haines  1. Matthew Angel


16. Jack Thomas  17. Kieran Mahoney  18. Rhys Spanswick  19. Gezza Dallimore  20. Max George  21. Zak Cusack  22. Gareth Edwards  23. Seb Toms

Head Coach: Matthew Tucker

Coaches: Stevie Richards, Geraint Thomas, Paul Davies

Team Manager: Richard Lintern


Worthington’s Welsh Districts Cup Final 2001

Penallta 36  Beaufort 19

Penallta Scorers:

Tries: Jason Parfitt (1), Andrew Powell (1)

Cons: Richard Scrivens (1)

Pens: Richard Scrivens (8)


Penallta Squad

15. Darren Hooper  14. Richard Scrivens  13. Stevie Richards ©  12. Stuart Lock  11. Garnett Price  10. Martyn Rowe  9. Jason Parfitt  8. Huw Stevens  7. Andrew Powell  6. Roy Webber  5. Michael Williams  4. Michael Oliver  3. Dean Davies  2. Dale Powell  1. Lee Acreman


16. Mark Cook  17. Nicky Thomas  18. Jason Griffths  19. Ian Smith  20. Richard Rowe  21. Jason Hollifield  22. Chris Johnson 

Head Coach: Steve Tucker

Coaches: Nigel James, Alan Lucas, David Flanagan (Snr)

Team Manager: Jeff Davies


Swalec Plate Final 2012

Penallta 21 Nant Conwy 15

Penallta Scorers:

Tries: Steve Davies (1), Ross Morgan (2)

Pens: Jonny Wright (2)

Penallta Squad

15. Seb Toms  14. Steve Davies  13. Andrew Jenkins  12. Joseph Merriman  11. Aron Humphries  10. Jonny Wright  9. Chris Thomas  8. Gavin Jones  7. Ross Morgan  6. Rhys Silcox  5. Rhys Clarke  4. Lee Rowlands  3. Kieran Mahoney ©  2. Gregg Haines  1. Martyn Dunn


16. Lucas Edwards  17. Lloyd Bridges  18. Gavin Spiller  19. Luke Purnell  20. Andre Soroko  21. Lee Thomas  22. Gareth Edwards

Head Coach: Matthew Tucker

Coaches: Martyn Rowe, Gazza Davies, Dale Powell, Geraint Kettley

Team Manager: Mike Thomas


National Plate Final 2016

Penallta 10 v Bedlinog 12

Penallta Scorers:

Tries: Ryan Davies (1)

Cons: Matthew Brewer (1)

Pens: Matthew Brewer (1)

Penallta Squad

15. Matthew Brewer  14. Ryan Davies  13. Lewis Barnett 12. Andrew Jenkins  11. Elliott Keep  10. Jonny Wright  9. Matthew Flanagan  8. Geraint Thomas  7. Rhys Fitzgerald 6. Rhys Stephens  5. Geraint Capel 4. Lee Rowlands © 3. Kieran Mahoney  2. Gregg Haines  1. Andrew Dix


16. Lucas Edwards  17. Lloyd Bridges  18. Luke Purnell  19. Gezza Dallimore  20. Aeron Bidgood  21. Andre Soroko  22. Lloyd Rowlands  23. Gary Wilks 


Head Coach: Stevie Richards

Coaches: Gregg Haines, Geraint Thomas, Paul Davies

Team Manager: Richard Lintern

There doesn't appear to be any tagged photos.

Upload and Tag Photos

You must be signed in to add comments